Tim Darland, Fire Chief 

As we meander through these unprecedented times and try to find some kind of normalcy in our lives, I wanted to take a mental break from COVID-19 and reflect back to 2019 and acknowledge our High Prairie Firefighters. As you recall, our annual firefighter’s appreciation dinner was canceled in March of this year. Prior to the official cancellation, the High Prairie Community Council members and other volunteers had already set up the community center for the dinner. As always, they exceeded all expectations (see picture)! Thank you for all your efforts, and I know all emergency responders from Lyle and High Prairie departments are very appreciative. 

Although we couldn’t be there in person, it is important to acknowledge individuals that had an exceptional year for the department. 

Here are the award recipients for 2019: 

(Select image to view enlargement)

(L–R): Ron McDonald, 2019 Firefighter of the Year “For Dedication to our Department and Community”,
Glenna Scott Chief’s Award “Excellence in Support of High Prairie Fire Department”,
Philip Haner  Chief’s Award “Exemplary Service and Dedication”,
Dave Thom Chief’s Award (Super Captain) “Exemplary Service and Dedication”,
Tom McMackin Chief’s Award & Night Owl Award “Exemplary Service and Dedication Made the highest number of calls from 10:00 p.m. to 6:00 a.m.”.

Congratulations award recipients! For the other department members, I had purchased folding knives and handed those out as a small token of my appreciation. I am honored to serve as High Prairie Fire Chief for such as outstanding group of dedicated professionals. Thank you emergency responders!

^ Top

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.